• slider-image
  • slider-image
    National Awards to
    Apply Now              
  • slider-image
    The true teachers
    are those who help
    us think for ourselves
    Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
    Apply Now              
For CBSE teachers, nominations will be made by CBSE. Therefore CBSE teachers may go through the special CBSE online process for teachers' awards.        Teachers working in CTSA, Sainik Schools run by Ministry of Defence, Schools run by AEES, Schools affiliated to CISCE may contact their respective organizations as they are following their own internal process for receiving nominations.


The purpose of National Awards to Teachers is to celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest . . .

Read More


Teachers / Headmasters with teaching experience working in recognized primary/middle/high/higher secondary schools ...

Read More

Criteria for Evaluation

Application would be evaluated using objective criteria and criteria based on performance ...

Read More

National Awards to teachers

The purpose of National Awards to Teachers is to celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest teachers in the country and to honor those teachers who through their commitment and industry have not only improved the quality of school education but also enriched the lives of their students.

Criteria based on performance

Under this, teachers will be awarded marks on criteria based on performance e.g. initiatives to improve learning outcomes, innovative experiments undertaken, organization of extra and co-curricular activities, use of Teaching Learning Material, social mobility, ensuring experiential learning, unique ways to ensure physical education to students etc. These criteria are given the weightage of 80 out of 100

Objective Criteria

Under this the teachers will be awarded marks as per the clearly defined logic provided against each of the objective criteria. This criterion is given the weightage of 20 out of 100.


Conditions of Eligibility of Teachers for consideration for the Awards:

School teachers and Heads of Schools working in recognized primary/middle/high/higher secondary schools in the Indian Union under the following categories:

  • Schools run by State Govt./UTs Administration, schools run by local bodies, schools aided by State Govt. and UT Administration.
  • Central Govt. Schools i.e. Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs), Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs), Central Schools for Tibetans (CTSA), Sainik Schools run by Ministry of Defence (MoD), Schools run by Atomic Energy Education Society (AEES).
  • Schools affiliated to Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)
  • Schools affiliated to Council for Indian Schools Certificate Examination (CISCE)
  • Normally retired teachers are not eligible for the awards but those teachers who have served a part of the calendar year (at least for four months i.e. upto 30th April in the year to which National Awards relates) may be considered if they fulfill all other conditions.
  • Educational Administrators, Inspectors of Education, and the staff of training Institutes are not eligible for these awards.
  • Teacher/Headmaster should not have indulged in tuitions.
  • Only regular Teachers and Heads of Schools will be eligible.
  • Contractual Teachers and Shiksha Mitras will not be eligible.

a resource for

Our Teachers, Our Heroes